From Monday 12th September applicants seeking Public Sector Housing in the south of the island will have access to a much wider choice of properties than ever before as a Combined Housing Waiting List for the Southern Region is launched.


The Combined List, which has also been offered to all existing applicants, unlocks the opportunity for applicants to have a choice of housing from over 1,000 properties across the Local Authority areas of Port Erin, Castletown, Rushen and Malew, together with the Department of Infrastructure (DoI) housing in the southern parish areas. This will help to reduce applicants waiting time on the housing lists as they will now be considered for housing across the four Housing Authority areas and DoI rather than just one area, as was previously the case. This has been achieved by partnership working between the Local Authorities and the Department of Infrastructure.


From Monday applicants will be able to submit their Housing Application Form by post or by hand to any of Arbory, Castletown, Malew, Port Erin, Rushen and Santon or Department of Infrastructure Housing Division who will process the application according to the applicant’s choice of area.


Clerk to Port Erin Commissioners and officer lead for the Group, Jason Roberts, said


‘Early feedback from existing and prospective applicants has been very positive. Following an earlier press release we’ve seen an upturn in the number of new applicants wishing to be housed in areas where they previously were unable to be considered for, as well as a number of applicants wishing to transfer from other housing waiting lists in order to take advantage of the wider choice which will now be available for them’.


The Combined Application form and an FAQ sheet can be downloaded from any of Castletown, Port Erin, or the Department of Infrastructure Housing Division websites and will pilot initially for a period of 3 months.


Port St Mary Commissioners have declined to be a part of the Southern Area Housing Working Group so therefore any applicants who wish to live in Port St Mary should apply directly to the Port St Mary Commissioners Offices and cannot be included on the Combined Housing Waiting List.


The application form can be downloaded here:



Issued on behalf of the Southern Area Housing Working Group on 12th September 2016.

The Southern Area Housing Working Group comprises of the Department of Infrastructure, Arbory, Parish Commissioners, Santon Parish Commissioners, Rushen Parish Commissioners, Malew Parish Commissioners, Castletown Commissioners and Port Erin Commissioners.


For further information please contact:

Jason Roberts, Clerk, Port Erin Commissioners  Email:  Tel (01624) 832298